Rotifers invade the Children’s Museum

by nicolebanowetz

Rotifers are appearing in all shapes and sizes in my studio at the Children’s museum.

IMG_2168

My inflatable rotifer in the studio at the Children’s Museum

The first rotifers I create at the children’s museum are based on my sketches inspired by the tiny creatures.  As I work in the studio in the children’s museum I collect children’s interpretations of the microscopic rotifer.

IMG_2170

Children’s drawings of rotifers and fabric collage.

 

IMG_2301

 

 

IMG_2311

 

IMG_2303

Children’s drawings

 

As time passes the children’s drawings begin to influence and change my designs of the inflatable rotifers I sew.  Just as in nature the rotifer is influences by the DNA of it’s surrounding, in the studio the rotifer is influenced by the children it interacts with.

IMG_2159

The first inflatable rotifer.

 

rotifercutout6

My rotifer drawing

 

 

IMG_2146

Child’s rotifer drawing

 

IMG_2369

My inflatable based on child’s drawing

 

The final resting place for the rotifers is flying up into the air near the climber.  As the children climb up to the top of the climber they will share a space with the flying rotifers

rotifer.climber

My concept for climber/rotifer installation.

